8 Fall 2014 Essentials Every Girl Will Need In Her Closet

My black booties.
My black booties.
IMG_0929
My black and white mottled sweater
IMG_0931
My gray flannel shirt
IMG_0933
One of my statement necklaces.
IMG_0940
My black faux leather jacket
IMG_0942
My Aztec print cardigan
IMG_0944
My leopard print scarf

Fall 2014 is already here, so I wanted to show you some key pieces of clothing that you will absolutely need in your closet this season. These pieces are relatively easy to find in stores or online, and are usually affordable, depending on where you look for them. Without further ado, let’s get started.

Staple #1: Ankle boots or booties. These are so trendy right now, and they’re very easy to incorporate into outfits. I have a black pair, but I prefer the brown ones. Usually in stores you’ll find them at around $60, but in my opinion, that’s too much to pay. I got mine at Kmart. They were originally $30, but it was buy one pair of shoes and get one half off, so they ended up only being $15. I wear mine almost every week, that’s how versatile they are. I strongly suggest on jumping onto the ankle boot bandwagon before it’s too late!

Staple #2: Knit sweaters. These are the easiest to find out of all of the clothing mentioned. They are everywhere in stores at this time of the year, and everyone probably has one or more in their closet. I won’t go into too much detail about these, but the current popular colors are maroon or burgundy, black and white (peppered), dark orange, nude or beige, and army green. Some popular sweater styles are ones with elbow patches, cropped sweaters and color block with leather or a contrasting color.

Staple #3: Plaid/flannel. I am OBSESSED with plaid this fall and flannel is just so soft! Plaid is one of the most prominent trends this season. I am seeing it all over Pinterest and Instagram lately. Again, this is another majorly versatile style. Plaid shirts are more popular than other plaid articles of clothing, but I really like plaid skirts too. I have one plaid flannel shirt that is my favorite. It’s gray with red and black as the stripes in the plaid and it’s super comfy. Tip: if you don’t wash flannel shirts before wearing them, they shed little fuzzies everywhere. I learned that the hard way. Anyways, I got my plaid flannel shirt from Papaya for around $18.

Staple #4: Statement necklaces. These are year-round figures in fashion, but the ones best suited for fall are the ones that have mainly clear crystal-like gems. I have two like this, and I got them both from Cato, one for $10, and one for $14.

Staple #5: Army inspired. Army inspired is another super popular style right now.  Combat boots were in style last fall, and they have stayed in style for the whole year of 2014. since they have been in style for a while, many people probably already some. Another stylish army-inspired item is an army jacket. I have one that I got from Delia’s for $25, but I ordered it online in the summer.

Staple #6: Leather items. Just to get things straight, I only buy faux leather. Leather jackets are especially in style now. So are many other leather products like leather leggings or pants, and skirts. This is yet another trend I see very often on Pinterest and Instagram. I have a feeling this trend will last throughout winter 2014 too. Also on trend are leather quilted items. I have a faux leather jacket with faux fur trim at the top that I got from Papaya for $17.

Staple #7: Aztec print. I know, I know. Aztec print was a summer trend. But it has stayed with us to fall, and it’s even more beautiful than before. I got my tan, maroon, orange, and black Aztec button-less cardigan for $14 at Papaya.

Staple #8: Anything leopard print. This is one of the lesser trends for this fall, but I love it all the same. Leopard print paired with basics or plain colors can make anything look classy. I got my leopard-print scarf from Burlington for $5.

That’s all for this post! I hope you enjoyed it and it helped you with your style this autumn. Comment what you would like me to do next time. Bye! 🙂

Leave a comment