August Favorites ☀🌊

Hello everyone! I can’t believe August is almost over. It went by so quickly! Since it’s almost September, I decided to do my August Favorites post. I hope you guys enjoy it!

Music

Alternative/ Indie Pop

  • Halsey- Hold Me Down
  • Halsey- Drive
  • Sir Sly- Leave You
  • PVRIS- Waking Up (acoustic)
  • Arctic Monkeys- One For The Road
  • Misterwives- Queens
  • Foxes- White Coats
  • The Neighborhood- Female Robbery
  • Lana Del Rey- High By The Beach
  • Melanie Martinez- Bittersweet Tragedy
  • Melanie Martinez- Crybaby Album (my top 3 favorite songs from it are Mad Hatter, Pacify Her, and Tag You’re It)

Books

Ashes Trilogy by Ilsa J. Bick (includes Ashes, Shadows, and Monsters)

These books are great. They’re pretty long, so I’m only going to type the summary for the first one but if it sounds interesting to you, you should definitely read all three books.

Ashes Summary:

An electromagnetic pulse flashes across the sky, destroying every electronic device, wiping out every computerized system, and killing billions. Alex hiked into the woods to say goodbye to her dead parents and her personal demons. Now desperate to find out what happened after the pulse crashed her to the ground, Alex meets up with Tom- a young soldier- and Ellie, a girl whose grandfather was killed by the EMP. For this improvised family and the others who are spared, it’s now a question of who can be trusted and who is no longer human.

Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

Summary:

Britt Pfeiffer has trained to backpack the Teton Range, but she isn’t prepared when her ex-boyfriend, who still haunts her every thought, wants to join her. Before Britt can explore her feelings for Calvin, an unexpected blizzard forces her to seek shelter in a remote cabin and accept the hospitality of its two very handsome occupants- but these men are fugitives, and they take her hostage. In exchange for her life, Britt agrees to guide the men off the mountain. As they set off, Britt knows she must stay alive long enough for Calvin to find her. Things get even more complicated when Britt finds chilling evidence of a series of murders that took place on that very mountain- a discovery that may make her the killer’s next target. But nothing is as it seems in the mountains, and everyone is keeping secrets, including Mason, one of her kidnappers. His kindness is confusing Britt. Is he an enemy or an ally?

Beauty

IMG_4084 IMG_4086

Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in Milan

I was a little skeptical of this at first because I don’t like Nyx’s lipsticks, but I heard lots of great things about this, and they were right, this is amazing! I was going for a mauvey- pink color when I chose this, and the color of the tube led me to believe it was the right color. However, the actual color of the cream is a bright pink, which is not bad (I actually think this color is one that works best on me), but I wish they tried to match the color of the tube to the product a little better. With that aside, I absolutely adore this! The color is very pigmented, and it goes on smoothly. It takes a bit longer to dry than I thought it would, but this is not a problem for me. Just be careful so you don’t smudge it. The color is also very long-lasting, and has a great matte texture. It is also extremely cheap ($3!) and you can get it in a drugstore. I would recommend this to everyone who wants something nice and matte.

IMG_4091

Elf Poreless Face Primer

I think this face primer works very well. It basically sucks the moisture/oil out of your face, which is great if you have moderately- very oily skin. it makes your skin look less shiny and more matte after you apply foundation. This also makes your face have a more flat surface, so if you have acne you want to cover up, it helps to conceal a little more. This is pretty powerful, so if you use it, only put a very small amount on your finger and apply it where needed. This was also very cheap, only $6.

Fashion

IMG_4081

Black And White Nike Free Runs

These shoes are so comfortable! I think they’ll be great for gym class when I start school, or walking my dog. I’ve also been into more minimalistic/simple shoes lately, so I just picked up these black and white ones. These will also match a lot of my outfits.

IMG_4088 IMG_3627

Gold Heart- Shaped Sunglasses: TJ Maxx, $12

I love how cute these are! They are great for just in the car, out in public, or a day at the beach.

Others

App- Songza

songza songzam

The picture on the right is the app’s image, and the one on the right is an example of what I’ll be talking about below. This is a really cool music app. Based on the time of day, it will show some options for what you may be doing. You select one, and then pick the type of music you’d like to listen to, and it will give you a station full of different songs. For instance, right now I could pick one that says “working out” and then I could select the type of music ( like pop, rap, indie, etc.) and then pick a station I think I would like. This is probably something I would use a lot this school year, because I like to play music when I’m getting ready. Another great thing is, this app is free.

That’s all for my August favorites! I hope you guys try some of this stuff out. I hope you enjoyed this post, and I’ll see you next time! (also, just a side note- I’m doing a back to school post on Tuesday, so stay tuned for that!)

Leave a comment