Ipsy Unboxing|February 2016!

Hey guys! So a few days ago I got my first Ipsy bag and I was so excited. If you don’t know what that is, it’s a website where you take a little quiz (to get information like eye color, hair color, what skin problems you have, etc.) then by just paying $10 a month, you get a little bag with personalized sample products in it. Ipsy also tends to have more full sized products in it. It comes once a month, about mid-month, and you get 5 samples in it to try out. I think this is a super cool idea if you want to try more beauty products, hair products, skin products, and more, especially higher-end ones, but don’t want to shell out a lot of money for it if you don’t know how it works. I love how affordable this service is. So since I got this subscription, I will do a post on it reviewing the products each month, starting with this month’s. If you’d like to subscribe or just check Ipsy out, you can do so here. Now let’s get into today’s post!

 

So this is what this month’s bag looks like:

IMG_6362

IMG_6364

The front has a bumpy texture, and the image of a pixelated letter with a heart on it, which is super cute for Valentine’s Day. And the bag is just a glossy, hot pink color. I can definitely see myself using this for travelling and carrying my makeup or other products.

 

The theme this month is Pretty in Ipsy Pink, which is obviously for Valentine’s Day. So most of the products in my bag are pink themed.

 

IMG_6366.JPG

The first product in my bag was this Luxie Small Tapered Blending Eye Brush. This is a very nice brush. The color scheme is really cute, and the bristles are soft. I already have a couple of eye blending brushes, but I like this one a lot more and I probably will use it more since it’s more high-quality than the ones I already own.

 

 

 

IMG_6367

IMG_6369.JPG

The second product in my Ipsy bag is this Naked Cosmetics Loose Mica Pigment.

This doesn’t really have a specific color name or anything, but I would describe it as this beautiful glittery champagne shade. It’s a pretty neutral color, so it works on all skin tones and all eye colors. This is extremely pigmented but easily blendable, and it looks like something I could wear everyday. The only thing that I don’t like about this (and it’s pretty minor) is the fact that it’s not a pressed powder eye shadow. I’m just not a particularly neat person, and knowing my luck, I would spill this all over the floor and myself, so I just have to be careful with this.

 

 

 

 

IMG_6370.JPG

The third thing I received was this Perfectly Posh Look Natural Best Face Forever Exfoliating Daily Facewash. I love this stuff! When you first smell it, it smells pretty strongly of mint which made me a bit of nervous because I don’t particularly like a very strong mint smell, but when used it has a nice fresh scent of mint that isn’t too strong with grapefruit undertones.  This is very nice , it’s probably my favorite product I got this month even though it doesn’t really go with the theme this month. It’s extremely refreshing, and leaves my skin feeling renewed.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6375IMG_6373IMG_6372

The fourth thing I received in my Ipsy bag is the Mr. Write (Now) Eyeliner Crayon in Jac by The Balm Cosmetics.

I saw a lot of other Ipsy unboxings where many people got this same eyeliner (but in different colors) and there were mixed reviews so I was excited to try this out for myself. One thing I really like about this is that it’s a screw-up eyeliner so you don’t have to sharpen it. It has great pigmentation and staying power, and the bronzy-brown color is a nice neutral eyeliner color that goes quite well with my dark brown eyes. Another thing I like is that the formula is sort of creamy, but it dries very quickly so you don’t run the risk of messing up your eye shadow.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6378IMG_6381

 

The final item in my Ipsy bag is the trèStique Baby Blush Stick in Bora Bora Coral.  I was a bit frightened of this color because it looked very bright, but when swatched it’s a beautiful coral color and it blends very easily. This is something that I would wear every day in the  spring or summertime. The only thing I don’t really like about this is that I feel like this isn’t a universally flattering color for all skin tones, but I can’t be sure.

 

 

That’s all I got in my Ipsy bag for February 2016! I hope you guys enjoyed this post and see you next time!

Leave a comment