elf Brush Set Review

Hey everyone! Recently I recieved a brush set from a friend by one of my favorite makeup brands, elf, so I was excited to try it out. I don’t have that many brushes, so having more for many different purposes is very helpful. I decided to review this brush set for you guys today. Hopefully i will have more exciting posts coming up with the approach of spring and warmer weather, so be prepared for that. Let’s get started!

  
This was the packaging for the brush set. It was probably sold around Christmas time and meant for that purpose, as a gift. 

It included: an angled blush brush, an eyeshadow brush, a blending (eye) brush, a powder brush, brush cleaner, an eyeliner brush, a total face brush, a crease brush, and a concealer brush. I think this is a nice variety of brushes, and it was clever to include the brush cleaner. 
1- Angled Blush Brush

   
 The box said that this is a great brush for any type of powder makeup, but since it’s angled, it’s best for bronzer for me. Its size allows for precise, pigmented application, especially around the cheek area. This would be great for contouring, but I mainly use it for my cheeks. 

2- Eyeshadow Brush

  
I already have quite a few eyeshadow brushes, but this is my new favorite because of its unique size and shape. Most eyeshadow brushes I have seen and used are rounded, so I like how this one is shorter and wider. This allows for the eyeshadow to reach most of the eyelid without multiple applications. It’s also easy to blend with if you’d like. 

3- Blending Eye Brush

  
I have a blending eye brush very similar  to this one, but I like having multiple because they can get dirty quickly. I think this is a fantastic brush for blending eyeshadow in the crease and blending out for a softer edge. This is pretty similar to the crease brush in this set, so I personally would only use one or the other. 

4- Powder Brush

  
Since I use the angled blush brush for bronzer, I use this one for blush. It has very good, pigmented application and the bristles are sturdy. 

5- Brush Cleaner

I absolutely love this brush cleaner. I already had some prior to getting this set, but I was running so I was excited to receive some more. This is great to clean all brushes, except for beauty blenders/sponges. It’s a faster alternative to soap and water, the only thing is that it’s difficult to clean brushes you used with liquid foundation, but if put more effort into it, the brush will be mostly clean. Another great thing is that this is a relatively cheap product, about $3-6 alone, and can be found in drugstores like CVS Pharmacy. 

6- Eyeliner Brush

  
This is a great eyeliner brush, not stiff but not too soft. Forms a great line, but I have found it easier for me to use an angled eyeliner brush. That may just be personal experience. It’s easy to control, and use with gel eyeliner. 

7- Total Face Brush

  
This is a great brush to use if you use powder foundation, or perhaps to set your makeup with translucent setting powder. I use this to lightly dust over my liquid foundation to blend it in and get rid of any streaks, because it’s way better than using my fingers. The only downside to this brush is that it occasionally sheds a few bristles. 

8- Crease Brush 

I didn’t think this brush was particularly remarkable, it’s pretty easy to blend with for eye makeup but it’s nothing too exciting. 

9- Concealer Brush

  
I was open to trying a new concealer brush, and I love this one. It has a small, structured size and it’s really easy to blend with. It’s great for using to cover up that acne that spots up every once in a while. I really like the small, unique size, it leads to more precise application. 

Overall, I think this is a great brush set by an affordable brand. If you’re a beginner with makeup or just looking for something new to try, I would recommend this to you. 
That’s all for today’s post! I hope you gush enjoyed it, and see you next time. 

Leave a comment