February Favorites 2016

Hey everyone! I know, this post is long overdue, but I promised I would do these every month so here are my favorite things from February! 

Music

Alternative/Pop:

Troye Sivan- BLUE 

Broods- Superstar

Alessia Cara- Scars to Your Beautiful 

Alessia Cara- River of Tears

Broods- Killing You

Broods- Sober

The Naked and Famous- Hearts Like Ours

Chairlift- Bruises

Chairlift- Amanaemonesia

Broods- Everytime

Daughter- Landfill

Ellie Goulding- My Blood

Marina and the Diamonds- I’m a Ruin

Marina and the Diamonds- Blue




Books

 

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

This is an absolutely brilliant book. The author paints the character as very witty and hilarious, and it is very entertaining to read. This is definitely one of my favorite books I’ve ever read, and I would recommend it to anyone. 

Summary:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla. But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean, and wearing all black- black t-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly. Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster. 

  

The Forsaken by Lisa M. Stasse

Summary:

Alenna Shawcross hasn’t seen her parents since they were dragged out of her house by government soldiers of the UNA, a new nation formed from the remnants of Canada, the USA, and Mexico. And now, as a sixteen-year-old orphan, she has failed a government personality test designed to diagnose subversive tendencies. As punishment, Alenna is banished to the wheel,a mysterious island where all the kids who fail get sent. A place where the conditions are brutal, and a civil war rages between two very different tribes of teenagers. So when Alenna meets Liam, a charismatic warrior who is planning to escape, she must find the strength to make a difficult decision: to either accept her new life on the wheel, or to embark on a journey that will uncover shocking secrets about the UNA- and her own identity as well. 

  

The Leveller by Julia Durango

Summary:

Nixy Bauer is used to her classmates being very, very unhappy to see her. After all, she’s working with the enemy- she’s on their parents’ payrolls. Nixy is a bounty hunter in a virtual reality gaming world. Kids in the MEEP, as they call it, play entirely with their minds, while their bodies languish in a sleeplike state on the couch. Irritated parents, looking to wrench their kids back to reality, hire Nixy to jump into the game and retrieve them. Luckily for Nixy and her wallet, she’s the best leveller out there. But when the game’s billionaire developer- and Nixy’s parents’ boss- loses track of his own son in the MEEP, Nixy is in for the biggest challenge of her bounty-hunting career. Wyn Salvador isn’t some lazy kid looking to escape his homework, and this is no ordinary levelling job: Wyn does not want to be found. And he’s left behind a suicide note. Nixy takes the job but quickly discovers that Wyn’s not hiding- he’s being held inside the game against his will. But who is holding him captive, and why? Nixy and Wyn attempt to fight their way out of a mind game unlike any they’ve encountered. And the battle brings them closer than either could have imagined. But when the whole world is virtual, how can Nixy possibly know what’s real? 

 
Burning Blue by Paul Griffin

Summary:

Nicole Castro is the most beautiful, popular, and wealthy girl in her high school… until a mystery assailant splashes her with acid, ruining the left side of her face. The tragedy is instantly all over the national news, but quiet loner and brilliant hacker Jay Nazzaro doesn’t just gawk and whisper like everyone else. Jay understands how it feels to be treated like a freak, and he’s determined to find out who did it. But the deeper Jay digs, the harder he falls for the surprisingly down-to-earth, vulnerable Nicole… and the more danger he’s in. Everyone is a suspect-including Nicole herself- and Jay  might just be the next victim of the list. 

Others

    

Sinful Colors Nail Polish in Daredevil

Lately I’ve been trying to wear colors I wouldn’t normally choose, and this was a great choice for me. It’s a very bright, neon pink, but it put me in the mood for the upcoming warmer months. 

     
Pink Lotus Candleholder- TJ Maxx, $8

When I saw this, I knew I had to buy it. It’s so adorable, and great for holding my candles since I have a bit of a candle obsession. 

 

Leave a comment