May Ipsy Bag Unboxing

Hi everybody! Today I’m going to share with you my Ipsy unboxing for the month of May. If you don’t know what Ipsy is, it’s a website where you take a little quiz (to get information like eye color, hair color, what skin problems you have, etc.) then by just paying $10 a month, you get a little bag with personalized sample products in it. Ipsy also tends to have more full sized products in it. It comes once a month, about mid-month, and you get 5 samples in it to try out. I think this is a super cool idea if you want to try more beauty products, hair products, skin products, and more, especially higher-end ones, but don’t want to shell out a lot of money for it if you don’t know how it works. If you’d like to check Ipsy out, you can do so here. Now let’s get into this month’s unboxing! 


The bag this month is really cool and unique. The theme is destination chic, so it has little white silhouettes of places from all over the world, and it’s shaped like an envelope. Mine is blue, and I saw that someone else had a red one so its nice to see that they’re giving variety out to their subscribers. 


The first item I recieved in my Ipsy bag is this Aurora Gel Effect Nail Polish in Safety Orange. This is a really nice neon orange colored nail polish, and I love how it’s gel effect so it will last longer. I haven’t had the chance to try this out yet, but I’m optimistic it’ll be great. 


The second thing in my Ipsy bag was this Vasanti Brighten Up Exfoliating Face Wash. I have heard many good things about this brand in particular, but I haven’t tried this yet either because I recieved an exfoliating face wash from a different brand in my February Ipsy that I haven’t run out of yet. But I think it’s cool to get a “replacement product” in a way, but by a different brand so you can still try a range of product to see what you’ll like. 


The third item I recieved was this Gloss Snob Lip Gloss by Glamour Dolls. (I don’t have it with me and I don’t remember the color, but I will update this with the color as soon as I can.) At first when I recieved this I was a little wary, because I’m not the biggest fan of lip glosses and I had never heard of the brand. When I tried it on, I liked it at first. It has a smooth, creamy formula, which is why I think it would have been incorrect to label it as a lip gloss. It just doesn’t have that signature lip gloss formula that every lip gloss has. I was surprised at how pigmented this was too, which is why I’m a little more upset because it applied very streaky. No matter how many coats, it was patchy and uneven on the lips. And this color looked even better on than it does in the tube. This product is not something I would ever purchase, and definitely not labeled as a lip gloss. 


The fourth item in my Ipsy bag was this Smashbox X-Rated Mascara. I was super excited to recieve such a higher-end brand, and to be able to try their mascara. However, this just did not live up to my expectations. I didn’t know what this mascara was initially supposed to do, so when I applied it I was disappointed. This mascara is great for lengthening, it has no clumps. However, I tend to look for volumizing rather than lengthening with my mascaras. This did nothing for volume. My lashes were long, but they were thin and virtually invisible. I used this as a base before using my usual mascara and it worked wonderfully and made my eyelashes much longer, but I would not use this product alone. Of course, this is just my personal preference, so if you’re looking to try this product don’t just take my word for it. 


The last item in my Ipsy bag was this Mmissglam Contour Brush. This is a very good quality brush, with soft bristles and picks up a lot of product, perfect for contouring precisely where you’d like. I didn’t necessarily need a contour brush since I already have two, but it’s always nice to have another if I don’t feel like washing the other ones. 😜 
That’s all for today’s post. I hope you guys enjoyed it, and see you next time! 

3 thoughts on “May Ipsy Bag Unboxing

Leave a comment