Ipsy Unboxing June 2016

Hey everybody! Today I’m going to share with you my Ipsy Unboxing for the month of June. Before we get into this post, if you don’t know what Ipsy is, it’s a website where you take a little quiz (to get information like eye color, hair color, what skin problems you have, etc.) then by just paying $10 a month, you get a little bag with personalized sample products in it. Ipsy also tends to have more full sized products in it. It comes once a month, about mid-month, and you get 5 samples in it to try out. I think this is a super cool idea if you want to try more beauty products, hair products, skin products, and more, especially higher-end ones, but don’t want to shell out a lot of money for it if you don’t know how it works. Now let’s get right into the unboxing! 
The bag




The theme for this month was rebel rebel, so the bag has graffiti style text on it saying “makeup” and “Ipsy”. At first when I saw this bag (on Ipsy’s Instagram page) I absolutely hated it but it actually grew on me and I kinda like it. 


The first product I received in my Ipsy bag is this Colourpop Creme Gel Eyeliner in Black. I was super excited to have received this because Colourpop is an affordable brand that I have heard nothing but good things about, plus I love gel eyeliners and since it’s black it’s a definite everyday product for me. I haven’t actually used this on my eyes yet, but I have swatched it and it is very smooth, creamy, and pigmented, so I’m sure I won’t be disappointed. 


The second product in my Ipsy bag is this Everything Balm by Delectable (I think, not sure about the brand). At first when I got this I was confused because I thought it was just a lip balm, but as the tube says, it can be used for almost anything. I have only used this product on my lips, which it is wonderful for. It has a nice fruity scent that reminds me of my childhood. I can’t quite identify it, but possibly pomegranate? Regardless, I think this is a really interesting and innovative product and I will test it out for the other uses it claims to have. 



The third item I got was this Crown Three Tone Bronzer. Let me just say, that right off the bat I could tell this was a product I wouldn’t like but I decided to give it the benefit of the doubt. First of all, the container is way too small to fit your brush in if you’re just trying to pick up one pigment. Secondly, just swatching I could tell it was not good quality. I had some hope with the bronzer. It was nicely pigmented and shimmery, but like I said, I couldn’t get my brush to pick up just the bronzer alone. It applied nicely but took a bit more blending than usual since it was a bit darker than my usual bronzer. The blush was (not even gonna sugarcoat it) absolutely horrible. It was chalky and powdery, and I could not pick up much of it at all, even with a brush as you can probably see from my swatch. Again, couldn’t just pick up the blush with my brush alone. I tried to wear the blush today and it didn’t transfer very well at all to my skin. I ended up applying some cream blush also and blending the two because it just wouldn’t show up. The highlight is a little better than the blush, but not by much. It swatched okay, but when applied to the face, was also chalky. I’m not sure if I didn’t like it because it was more subtle than the highlight I’m used to, (which is the same color but with way more pigmentation, in the city color highlight trio I received in another Ipsy bag) or if it was actually a bad product. Either way, this was pretty much the first disappointing product I’ve gotten in the 5 months I’ve been subscribed to Ipsy. 


The fourth item I received is this Urban Decay Duo Toned Eyeshadow in Fireball. I saw on Ipsy’s Instagram before I received my bag that some people were getting urban decay eye shadows and I was hoping and praying to get one. I’ve never used Urban Decay until now, since I’m a teenager who can’t afford it. 😂 And now that I’ve tried this, I know why so many people rave about Urban Decay’s eye shadows. First of all, the colors are absolutely gorgeous. Since it’s duo toned, it comes off as either a shimmery cool-toned pink or a bright coral color. I found it was more of the coral color when worn, and with more packed on it became brighter. I have never used an eyeshadow of such a great quality as this. It’s incredibly creamy and extremely pigmented, you barely need to place your finger/brush on it to pick up so much product. It’s very smooth and satiny, and easily blend able. Furthermore, this is definitely a summer shade and a wearable color, maybe not everyday, but definitely wearable for me at least. 

The last item in my Ipsy bag was this Be A Bombshell Pout Potion in Secret. Normally, I would be excited to receive a lip product in my Ipsy bag but I was a little wary this time because I’ve heard contradictory things about this brand. The color of this product is a pink-nude shade. The swatch makes it seem more pink, but it is definitely more nude on my skin tone when worn on the lips, nearly to the point where it’s unflattering on my skin tone, but not quite. The formula is fantastic, very smooth and creamy, hydrating. The only thing is it’s a little patchy, but multiple coats and blending cover that up pretty well. It does dry a bit after a few hours without reapplication, and clings to any chapped skin you may have on your lips but otherwise, it’s a pretty good product. 

That’s all for this month’s Ipsy Unboxing. I hope you guys enjoyed it, and see you next time! 


One thought on “Ipsy Unboxing June 2016

Leave a comment